Product code RM-15 LP
Category LP
Brand Secretly Canadian
Availability yes
More items available upon order yes

Tip a friend

More questions ?



1. 2amoutu I7tirakan 6:15
2. Metal 3:50
3. Seif 3:42
4. In Touch 5:48

5. Gazelles In Flight 5:13
6. Leyla 2:03
7. 3attam Babey 8:44


Beginning in November 2012, Suuns (Ben Shemie, Liam O'Neill, Max Henry and Joseph Yarmush) and long time friend, Radwan Ghazi Moumneh, rented a studio in Montreal for seven days. The idea was to collaborate on rough sketches of song ideas and to complete as much recording as possible without discrimination. The session was successful, yielding many vibe-laden songs featuring heavy analog synths, Arabic influences and electronic sensibilities.

After the session, the recordings layed dormant. Both bands were releasing individual albums; touring was to ensue shortly. Some editing time was squeezed in between tour dates but a full year passed before the songs were heard by an audience. The collaborative band did a live show at Pop Montreal 2013 and then another the following March. At that point, the project was kickstarted into gear. The band over dubbed and re-worked the songs in the summer of 2014 and finally, whilst on tour in October, finished the vocal overdubs and mixing. Radwan Ghazi Moumneh of Jerusalem In My Heart did the tracking and most of the mixing while Max Henry of Suuns handled some mixing as well.

The live show is very much a performance with less emphasis on replaying the recordings note for note, but more about recreating the excitement of the initial recording sessions.

Upon its release, Suuns and Jerusalem in My Heart received positive reviews from music critics. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from critics, the album received an average score of 72, which indicates "generally favorable reviews", based on 9 reviews. Allmusic critic Fred Thomas wrote: "While there's no clear mission statement or overarching theme to the album, the group's collective energy is exciting and propulsive throughout, sounding very much like a group of close friends ecstatically pushing each other into uncharted musical territory."Drowned in Sound's Russel Warfield described the album's content as "music with a strong pulse that also whispers its truths close to your ear, like an intimate conversation at the back of a booming dance club."musicOMH critic Eric Hill stated: "In many ways it offers lessons in collaborative best practice, with individual sonic identities preserved, yet with a willingness to divert from usual methods on both sides proves it’s much more than just a stop-gap in between their respective next albums."

Stuart Berman of Pitchfork stated: "Suuns and Jerusalem in My Heart does leave you wondering what more the two entities could have accomplished had they worked on this for more than a week."Joe Banks of The Quietus commented: Suuns And Jerusalem In My Heart is more than just a stopgap or indulgence, and with those first three tracks in particular, it pulls off a convincing and vital meld of contrasting cultural and sonic palettes. Banks further added: "And if not all of these experiments work, it's nevertheless proof once again of the myriad musical possibilities out there in the world just waiting to be brought into existence."The New York Times ' John Pareles wrote: "Whether they are paced by programmed beats, guitars or both, and whether they lean toward rock, techno or vintage electronic Minimalism, the tracks are headed somewhere urgent."

Drowned in Sound critic Russel Warfield was mixed in his assessment of the album, writing: "The comparative simplicity of these songs makes this a more of a compelling curiosity piece, rather than the explosively satisfying--potentially classic--albums that both of these bands have in them as separate artists.

  • Ben Shemie — vocals, guitar
  • Joe Yarmush — guitar, bass, layout, artwork
  • Max Henry — keyboards, bass
  • Liam O'Neill — drums
Jerusalem in My Heart
  • Radwan Ghazi Moumneh — vocals, instruments, production, mixing

Registered users can share their experience with this product. Register to access all of the benefits reserved to registered users or click on login if you are already registered. Un eshop professionale completo a soli 49 euro l'anno con NewCart
Questo sito è presente su